Mill Creek Beacon - Your Hometown News Source

Pam Pruitt will serve fifth term as mayor

Council voted incumbent in Jan. 7; Mike Todd was also nominated


January 17, 2020

Beacon file photo.

Mill Creek City Council meetings are Tuesdays in City Hall South.

Councilmember Pam Pruitt was elected to her fifth term as the mayor of Mill Creek by the city council at its meeting Jan. 7. She will serve for two more years as the head of the legislative branch of the city.

There was one other nomination to compete with the incumbent mayor. Councilmember John Steckler nominated Mike Todd, but his nomination ultimately did not sway the council. Councilmembers Mark Bond, Vince Cavaleri, and Stephanie Vignel voted for Pruitt, as did Pruitt herself. Todd received two votes, from himself and Steckler.

Brian Holtzclaw was not at the meeting because he was out of town.

"The fact that I'm recommending someone else has nothing at all to do with the job she's done, which I think has been remarkable. I do think, though, that it would be healthy or the council to consider and alternative just for a different voice, a different tenure," Steckler said of his decision to nominate someone other than Pruitt for mayor.

Holtzclaw was voted to another term as mayor pro-tem. It will be his third term in the leadership position. The council's vote was unanimous.

The City of Mill Creek operates a council-manger type of government. The city manager is the head of the executive branch of the municipal government, and the city council is the legislative branch. City residents elect city councilmembers to four-year terms, who in turn elect the mayor and mayor pro tem to two-year terms. The city council then selects a city manager, currently Michael Ciaravino. The city manager carries out the policies city council votes on. Other cities in Washington that follow the council-manger form of government include Tacoma, Richland, and Yakima. There were 54 cities in the state using the same form of government as Mill Creek in 2018.

During the Jan. 7 meeting, councilmembers discussed their appointments to city, county, and regional committees for transportation, housing affordability, and other subjects.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 02/23/2020 11:04